cover

Ref Jerome Boger explains the call in OT Dan Leberfeld

Q)Please explain the penalty that was called on (Chris Jones) on the field goal?

Referee Jerome Boger: The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate can not push a teammate into an opponents’ formation.

Q)Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?

Boger: Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It’s any type of pushing action.

Q)Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?

Boger: No, the umpire’s flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.

Q)And that’s a 15-yard penalty?

Boger: For unsportsmanlike conduct.